City of Canning

The City is located in Perth’s south-eastern suburbs, about 10km from the Perth CBD and covers a total of 65km2. The City is made up of 16 suburbs including Bentley, Cannington, East Cannington, Ferndale, Lynwood, Parkwood, Queens Park, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Welshpool, Willetton, Wilson and parts of the suburbs of St James, Canning Vale and Leeming.

Canning has the beautiful Canning River (Djarlgarro Beelier in Noongar) snaking its way through its borders which sees people out and about enjoying the river and its nearby trails, walking and cycle paths.

The City of Canning is home to two industrial hubs in Canning Vale and Welshpool and will see the heart of Cannington revitalised with the $76m Canning City Centre rejuvenation program which commenced in early 2019.


Scroll to Top
We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land where we work and live.
We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.
We celebrate the stories, culture and traditions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders of all communities who also work and live on this land.